Indian Art
Indian Folk Dance
Statue of Ganesh Ji
Holy Statue India
{short description of image}


Modern History of the State:


Himachal, known as Dev Bhumi to the ancients, lies in the heart of Western Himalayas. It lies between 300 22' to 330 12’ North latitude and 750 47’ to 790 4’ East longitude. The territory is almost wholly mountainous with altitudes ranging between 350 to 7000 meters above sea level. Himachal Pradesh became a full-fledged 18th State of the Indian Union on January 25th, 1971 with an area of 55,672 Sq. Km. It is larger than Punjab, Haryana and Kerela but in population it stands much below.

Modern History of the State:

The history and traditions of Himachal Pradesh go back to the earliest days of human civilization. The Kols, who were the earliest inhabitants and the descendants of the Neolithic man in Himachal as well as the Khashas an off shot of the Aryan race had subjugated and subdued the aboriginals and established their colonies in the hills to become new masters of the land. In Mahabharta references of important Janpadas of Trigarta, Audambaras, Kalutas and Kalinidas occur. Panini, the author of Rajtarangini had also referred to these janpadas. Panini did refer Trigarta as a confederation of six States to substantiate the existence of Himachal Pradesh which was administratively governed by a number of rulers in their respective Janpadas, States, Principalities etc.

While travelling on the historical sources of the history of Himachal Pradesh, it must be remembered that no State or province with this name existed on the map of India. It was only after independence that Himachal Pradesh came into existence as a centrally administered State and it grew into its present size and status in gradual stages. On the eve of independence, there were 22 princely States, which were then known as the Punjab Hill States, and the Shimla Hill States. These States were:
1) Bilaspur      2) Chamba      3) Mandi
4) Sirmaur      5) Suket      6) Bashahr
7) Koenthal      8) Jubbal      9) Baghat
10) Bhagal      11) Kumarsain     12) Dhami
13) Bhajji      14) Tharoach     15) Beja
16) Malhlog      17) Kunihar      18) Sangri
19) Balsan      20) Kuthar      21) Hindur
22) Dharkoti